Signs of Winter…..I think it is here!

For the past couple of months with the swings towards the warmer side of the thermometer and no snow to speak of we have wondered if winter would come at all. Despite the official date (December 21) having come and gone. Skiers, snowshoers and snowmobilers were in despair.

Well I do think it is here! We need despair no longer. With the snow and wind over the last few  days, and then this morning’s temperature (-26c at sunrise) made for a confirmation. (Last night was rather cool! I was home alone with the four-footed critters. Reminds me of Bruce Cockburn’s song Coldest Night of the Year.)

This morning’s walk with my canine companion began as usual. When we first stepped out side and I asked her if she wanted to go for a walk she was all bounces as usual. When we got to the gate and she stopped and started lifting her paws I asked her if she still wanted to go for a walk. Her tail, now in a downward position, just wiggled a tiny bit. I asked her if she wanted to go back inside and she headed straight back with no hesitation.

So I let her back in  and I went on by myself. The wind had pretty much filled in the trail. Having to break trail made for pretty slow slogging. A pretty good work out….so I will admit that I didn’t do more than half of my regular round. Besides, it was cold out there before the sun rose!

 

About Art Brûlant

Artist and Coffee Roaster who likes the outdoors, cycling and fly fishing and also operates "Art Brûlant" a coffee place with space for Art.
This entry was posted in Environment, snowshoeing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

