Signs of Spring……Catching Up

This post has bee a little while coming. With the preparation work going on here at Art Brûlant I have been putting this off. I decided that I better get on with it before summer arrives (think it will?). This does not mean that things are ready yet though.

Walking through the fields this morning a rather strange thing happened. I small, low flying flock of Canada Geese came from behind me to the NW. As the lead bird flew over top of me it banked and then proceeded to fly a circle around me. The others followed it. I stopped and watched as they looked me over. The lead goose was close enough that the white head patch was very clear!

Later in the walk I flushed a large Tom Turkey that had called moments earlier. I was down wind of him.

In the Garden

  • The Forsythia started blooming a couple of days ago
  • Daffodils and Scilla too
  • More Crocus’ and Snowdrops
  • Garlic, Garlic Chives, some volunteer Endives and the Rhubarb are up

The Bush and Elsewhere

  • A few days back I spotted a strange sight . A Bittern (normally very shy!) was doing his “you can’t see me” pose right on the shoulder of the road as I drove by
  • About this time the Red Maples started blooming
  • Coming home one evening I heard the first Toads singing
  • A little later the Leopard Frogs joined them
  • The Bloodroot is also blooming
  • This morning I noticed that the Tamaracks had started blooming
  • At the bottom of the yard the Marsh Marigolds have also started blooming

There I did it! Now to get back to work!

About Art Brûlant

Artist and Coffee Roaster who likes the outdoors, cycling and fly fishing and also operates "Art Brûlant" a coffee place with space for Art.
This entry was posted in Flyfishing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

