Forgetting Paradise!

I was getting the beans together to grind for an espresso based drink (my first this morning) and realized that I had forgotten to roast up a batch of coffee.

Yesterday some one was a little dissapointed because a previous customer had taken the last of the Bali Paradise Valley that I had roasted up — you know who you are K.A. (but I think the Burundi was a good substitute).

Anyway, I fired up the roaster and a little while later the beans are cooled, stored and labelled and the roaster is cooling down before I shut it off and clean it.

I did get my coffee. I have been playing around with blends for the espresso and espresso based drinks. When I add milk I find I like more of the darker roasted beans in the blend. This one, for a double espresso + milk, I used 10g of med roasted Brazilian Santos plus 15g of dark roasted Brazilian Santos.

I just finished the coffee as I started this note, and I must admit I liked the results. A nice balance of the sweetness of the steamed milk with the stronger flavours of the coffee.

The sounds and smells of roasting coffee with a nice hot coffee on hand. What better for a very cool spring morning.

BTW I also roasted up a fresh batch of the Costa Rican Tarrazau yesterday.

About Art Brûlant

Artist and Coffee Roaster who likes the outdoors, cycling and fly fishing and also operates "Art Brûlant" a coffee place with space for Art.
This entry was posted in Coffee and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forgetting Paradise!

  1. I was having a rough day on Friday and I took the time to visit Raymond at Art Brulant for an espresso tasting and it was just what I needed! I could feel the stress leave me as the delicious espresso and rich crema hit my tastebuds. So smooth. There is a burst of flavour in your mouth that hits you and it is the best feeling.

Leave a Reply

