Cupping This Morning’s Roasting….A New Bean!

In order to find out how I like a coffee bean to taste I do what is called sample roasting. Sample roasting allows me to roast the same bean with different roast profiles. Every roast profile changes the flavour of the final roasted bean.

This morning I roasted three batches from the same bag of green beans. Each batch was 455g (1lb) when it went into the roaster. I ended up with a medium roast, a medium dark and one very dark roast. Their weights roasted varied from 360g to 345g (beans loose weight in the roasting). They all varied in appearance and aroma as well.

This afternoon I did a comparison tasting, a cupping, of the three batches roasted this morning.

I will admit that I am uneducated in this, but I think, following some online instructions, I was able to accomplish what I set out to do. I was able to make, at least a preliminary choice on how I want to roast this coffee in the future.

All three of the batches produced nice flavoured coffees, but my preference surprised me. The one coffee with the nicest all round flavour, texture and after taste (though it was a little light on aroma) was the darkest.

Most really dark roasted coffees often have a sharp aftertaste in the throat that reminds me of burnt toast or charcoal. This one didn’t.

Conclusion: I think profile/batch #3 is where I will go, at least at first, for roasting this particular bean.

By the way, this particular coffee will be part of some new coffees introduced for the Grande Opening starting May 6 & 7, 2011.

Watch here for more updates!

About Art Brûlant

Artist and Coffee Roaster who likes the outdoors, cycling and fly fishing and also operates "Art Brûlant" a coffee place with space for Art.
This entry was posted in Coffee and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cupping This Morning’s Roasting….A New Bean!

  1. What one were you tasting?

Leave a Reply

