Art, Roasting……..Some Musings

I have worked in the visual arts for a little while now. I remember one early comment by a gallery owner after perusing my portfolio went something like this: “Come back when your style has matured!”

That hit hard. Especially when you are young, sure of yourself and your work. “Who was he to imply that my work lacked maturity!”

In one sense he was right. My work did and has matured (I think….). In another sense he was wrong, it hasn’t matured, it has just evolved as I have over time (is that maturing?) . That evolution has involved, among other things, an understanding and appreciation of the media and materials I have worked with over an extended period of time and perhaps just a little of the same for myself (big ???? here).

That ‘evolution’ continues. It will not come to an end until I do!

These musings have overlaid themselves on the experience that has been my trip in the process of doing the roasting of coffee.

I find that I like what I am doing with the roasting of the coffee as it stands now, and so admitting that what I do may not be where it needs to be does not come easy. On the other hand as I taste, work with it, deal with others that are using it, I do want more out of it. I want to be more consistent in what I do with it. I want to work with the varied pallette the beans offer. How it comes out of the roaster and tastes in the cup.

I am evolving (maturing???) my roast…..that ‘evolution’ continues. It probably will not come to an end until I do!

About Art Brûlant

Artist and Coffee Roaster who likes the outdoors, cycling and fly fishing and also operates "Art Brûlant" a coffee place with space for Art.
This entry was posted in Art, Coffee and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

