Why Am I Here?

This sort of question is asked in spiritual and philosophical circles and as such the volumnes written on it are endless. I don’t really want to go there but…..

Actually what prompted this was a thought that came to me on this morning’s snowshoe walk, “This is why I am here!”

Walking into a rising sun, light glistening off the snow, clean crisp air against my face, the sound of birds in the hedgerows, the squeek of my snowshoes as I walked, all together combined to respond to a sense of restlessness after returning home from being away. Specifically, being away visiting a large metropolitain area that is very much a contrast to here.

We all live in this region of Québec for various reasons, but one of the main reasons for myself and many others is summed up in this morning’s walk. No sound of traffic, no sound of police sirens. Coyotes, wolves and owls call at night. Canoeing, back-road cycling, fishing and hunting at my doorstep. For many artists, including myself, the landscape provides an endless source of ideas, fodder….inspiration.

Where it becomes less bucolic is what one does, how one earns the living to allow one to live here. Voila coffee, forestry, real estate, whatever!

About Art Brûlant

Artist and Coffee Roaster who likes the outdoors, cycling and fly fishing and also operates "Art Brûlant" a coffee place with space for Art.
This entry was posted in Art, Coffee, Environment, Flyfishing, Recumbents, snowshoeing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

